Author Archives: The Captain

One Step Closer to the Great Loop

5-28-2018          6-1-2018

Captain Bob aka “Cabin Boy Bob”—

Knowing absolutely nothing about boating, you have given us the confidence to know that trawlering is something we can do, and enjoy! We know we can’t take on the Great Loop yet, but your school was our first step and our next step is to charter a trawler on our own. We will prepare ourselves with all the knowledge and experience we learned in your classes. With Captain Bob”s wise advice we now have a solid plan to move forward. Captain Bob we appreciate all the time and patience and trust you’ve given us.

My time onboard the Miami Mermaid has been fun, relaxing, exciting and adventurous and very enjoyable.

Thank you Linda

It has been the best learning experience understanding trawlers. I knew a little about boating, but less about operating a trawler. After your intensive classes I know a lot more about these cool boats. Thank you for you patience and your excellent cooking! Best wishes for you and your future students.

Take care and God Bless.
Linda & Don
Bartlett TN

We Found the Confidence We Came For

5-18-2018.            5-21-218

Captain Bob,

In contemporary culture today all to0 frequently expectations do not measure up to reality. Not so with Captain Bob!!! His trawler experience and knowledge has helped us throughout all the subjects you covered, we found the confidence we came for.

Kudos to Captain Robert Hamilton in showing us the way to our next step into taking our trawler adventures.

We are in-debt to the skipper, you have enriched our lives…

Matthew & Virginia
Hilltop Trail Sparta NJ
(Brooklyn Too)

Selling the House & Living Aboard

Captain Bob.              5-7-18.            5-11-18

The laughs, the entertainment, the learning!! So much learning…

Captain Bob was the ultimate host providing incredible comfortable accommodations on board the Miami Mermaid, beautiful scenery and Anchorages with once in a lifetime views. He’s one Hell of a chef too. We never enjoyed so much well prepared cuisine. Yummy.

Captain Bob is the most amazing teacher he prepared us for navigating and maneuvering after a few minutes we were on our own. We cruised from Hollywood to Key Biscayne (Miami) all by ourselves. We had no experience but we do now. My husband David and I feel so much more comfortable taking our new trawler out for the first time— it is located in Jacksonville. We’re so excited! We’re selling the house and living aboard.

Captain Bob has a wealth of trawler knowledge and shark jokes, he can help teach ANYONE all about trawlers.

We would highly recommend him to anyone & everyone looking to broaden their trawler horizons.

You are the best Captain Bob, thanks for a great time.

Your woman overboard drill was very educating and exciting. Poor Wilma but we saved her for your next shipmates to save.

Andrea & David
Wilkes Barre, Penn

Well Executed, Fun, and Exciting!

Captain Bob.             4-24-18.     4-28-18

What a voyage it was! Cynthia and I knew that our limited experience as lake and river boaters on our 30’ Sea Ray was not nearly enough for us to step up to a bigger boat (trawler) and making such a important decision without exploring Trawler school for more experience and knowledge.

Thank you, Captain Bob, for sharing your vast knowledge and wisdom regarding trawlers. Selecting the right model, size, buying, surveyors, handling and most of all the trawler lifestyle.
We are now convinced we are going in the right direction. Captain Bob you did it through a well planned, well executed and fun, exciting program.Thank you for an experience of a lifetime.
We’ll never forget rule #4 “Wake Management” and we’ll keep an eye out for your cook book.
We’ll be in touch,

Steve & Cynthia T.

We Are Now Ready

I really felt like we learned quite a lot, our days on board were very special as well. Great stories to illustrate all of your points we are now ready to charter a trawler. Your food was amazing. Thank you so much.

Don & Mary
West Chapel, FL

Come be Our Chef on Our Trawler, Please?

Captain Bob

Thanks for a great time! Trawler school was awesome. You’re an excellent host, chef and knowledgeable teacher, but most of all your fun to be around! I’d like to hire you as our chef on board our trawler when we find one.

Enjoyed the wild and sea life, all of your informative lessons covering from A to Z. We found your school very informative and helpful. Thanks for a wonderful time on the Mermaid.

Cheers
Brett & Betsy
Modesto, Calf

Hell Yes

Captain Bob is truly an amazing and gifted Captain and teacher. All the hard lessons we did not want to learn on our own were made easy and now we have found ourselves ready to take the big trawler step.

We had a chance to practice handling a 40’ trawler in a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The places we visited were so beautiful we cannot wait to charter a trawler and go cruising.

Would we recommend trawler school “HELL YES”
Thank You
Kathy & Mark
Winneconne, WI

Ninety-five Percent

Captain Bob!

Thanks for a wonderful training charter, we are overwhelmed of all the information you taught us. We handled the Miami Mermaid by ourselves 95% of the time on our own!!! We highly recommend your trawler school and for what we received for 3 days, 4 nights was well, well priced and worth every penny of it. Keep up the good work Captain.

Trawler Scholars
Liz & Marty
Abingdon, MD

Transitioning from Sailboat to Trawler

Captain Bob,
Thanks for a great trip, the perfect blend of recreation, education & good humor. You taught us important lessons that validated some of the information we dug up on our own. Best of all was the hands on trainings that gave us confidence in power boating. We are ready for a transition from our sailboat to a trawler. We definitely are well informed and prepared to find and buy a trawler Captain Bob your classes were very informative on that subject and we fell comfortable finding and dealing with brokers or private owners.

Mark & Michelle
New Bern, NC

The Reviews Were True

Hello Captain Bob

What a beautiful 3 days onboard the Miami Mermaid! Captain Bob lived up to all the reviews we read: we received an education and experience of a lifetime. The weather and anchorages were exceptional. We are filled with true confidence in seamanship. We are excited to test out the wonderful world of Trawlers with excitement and knowledge.

Great job Captain Bob we won’t forget you!
Doug & Julianne